
Spermidine vs Urolithin A: Which Is Better for Longevity?
Should I take spermidine or urolithin A?
Spermidine scores 7.6 and urolithin A 6.5, and they clean up different messes. Spermidine drives broad autophagy: autophagy 8.0, cardiovascular 7.8, longevity 7.5. Urolithin A drives selective mitophagy in muscle: mitochondrial 7.0, muscle 5.0. Spermidine is a bet on a cohort. Urolithin A is a bet on a walking test.
- Spermidine 7.6, urolithin A 6.5. Spermidine wins autophagy 8.0 to 5.0, cardiovascular 7.8 to 3.0 and longevity 7.5 to 5.0. Urolithin A wins mitochondrial 7.0 to 6.5 and muscle 5.0 to 2.0.
- Spermidine is the slowest thing on this site. First noticeable change is estimated at 12 weeks and full effect at 12 months, against 4 and 16 weeks for urolithin A.
- Neither has hit its primary endpoint in a decent trial. Schwarz 2022 gave 100 older adults spermidine for 12 months and found no significant memory benefit. Watts 2025 pooled three urolithin A trials and the 6-minute walk estimate crossed null.
- Spermidine's headline is an association, not a trial. Kiechl 2018 followed 829 people for 20 years and found higher dietary spermidine intake tracked with lower mortality. Diet is not a capsule.
- Cost is close: $40 to $90 a month for branded wheat germ extract, $50 to $100 for Mitopure. Both are retail estimates, and both categories have cheap unvalidated generics that do not match the trial material.
- Urolithin A has the newer isolated RCT. Denk 2025 randomized 50 people to 1000 mg/day for four weeks and shifted CD8+ immune-aging and fatty-acid oxidation endpoints.
- Active cancer without oncology clearance rules out both. Celiac disease and wheat allergy rule out wheat germ spermidine specifically.
At a Glance
Spermidine
- Efficacy 3.0
- Breadth 4.5
- Evidence 3.8
- Speed 1.0
- Durability 2.6
- Bioindividuality 4.0
- Safety Risk 1.4
- Side Effects 1.0
- Cost 2.0
- Effort 1.6
- Opportunity Cost 1.0
- Dependency 1.0
- Reversibility 1.0
- Autophagy
- Cardiovascular
- Longevity
- Geriatric
Dietary polyamine, usually wheat germ extract. BioHarmony 7.6, strong recommend.
Urolithin A
- Efficacy 2.7
- Breadth 3.0
- Evidence 2.8
- Speed 2.3
- Durability 2.5
- Bioindividuality 3.6
- Safety Risk 1.4
- Side Effects 1.4
- Cost 4.3
- Effort 1.3
- Opportunity Cost 2.0
- Dependency 1.5
- Reversibility 1.2
- Mitochondrial
- Anti Inflammatory
- Geriatric
- Muscle Growth
Pomegranate and walnut ellagitannin metabolite. BioHarmony 6.5, worth trying.
Head-to-Head Verdict
| Use Case | Winner | Rationale |
|---|---|---|
| Autophagy | Spermidine | Spermidine 8.0 against urolithin A's 5.0, its highest subrating and the widest gap on this page. Spermidine inhibits the EP300 acetyltransferase to release autophagy generally and supplies the eIF5A hypusination that mitophagy proteins need. Urolithin A only triggers the mitochondrial subset. That breadth decides this row. |
| Mitochondrial | Urolithin A | Urolithin A 7.0 against spermidine's 6.5, a narrow win on the one thing it was designed to do. Andreux 2019 was the first-in-human study and showed acylcarnitine shifts and mitochondrial gene-expression changes at doses that were safe and bioavailable. The mechanism is PINK1 and Parkin dependent mitophagy, which is selective quality control rather than bulk recycling. |
| Cardiovascular | Spermidine | Spermidine 7.8 against urolithin A's 3.0, the widest gap in the matrix. Eisenberg 2016 showed cardioprotection and lifespan extension in animals with the effect dependent on autophagy in cardiomyocytes, and Kiechl 2018 linked dietary intake to lower 20-year all-cause mortality in humans. The honest caveat: POLYCAD, the 187-person randomized cardiac trial, has not reported. |
| Muscle Growth | Urolithin A | Urolithin A 5.0 against spermidine's 2.0. Singh 2022 randomized middle-aged adults and reported improved strength and exercise performance with mitochondrial biomarker shifts. Read it with its funding: the trial was industry-funded and has not been independently replicated. Spermidine has no muscle mechanism and its own report scores it near the floor. |
| Longevity | Spermidine | Spermidine 7.5 against 5.0, and both sides here are weaker than the scores suggest. Spermidine's case is Kiechl 2018, an observational cohort of 829 people over 20 years where higher dietary intake tracked with lower mortality, plus animal lifespan data. Urolithin A's is Ryu 2016, lifespan extension in C. elegans. Neither is a human supplementation lifespan trial, because none exists. |
| Geriatric | Spermidine | Spermidine 7.2 against 5.5, on breadth rather than on any single result. Its subratings above 6.0 span cardiovascular, immune function, cellular senescence, hair, healthspan and longevity, which is the profile an older adult is buying. Urolithin A's above-5.0 rows are mitochondrial, muscle, geriatric and endurance, which is a narrower and more athletic target. |
| Hair Nail | Spermidine | Spermidine 6.8 against urolithin A's 1.0. Rinaldi 2017 randomized 100 people to a spermidine-based supplement and improved hair follicle cycling markers in a double-blind placebo-controlled design. It is a small single-trial result on a surrogate endpoint, not a hair-loss treatment, and urolithin A has nothing here at all. |
| Endurance Cardio | Urolithin A | Urolithin A 4.5 against spermidine's 3.5. Liu 2022 randomized older adults and found muscle-endurance and biomarker signals, though the 6-minute walk distance and maximal ATP production were not clearly significant against placebo. That mixed result is why this row wins on 4.5 rather than something higher. |
| Immune Function | Tie | Call this even, against the subratings. Spermidine scores 6.2 and urolithin A 4.5, but spermidine's human immune data comes from Felix 2024, a randomized trial of a combination product containing AM3 and hesperidin as well, so nothing there isolates spermidine. Denk 2025 randomized 50 people to urolithin A alone and shifted CD8+ immune-aging endpoints. |
| Cognition Focus | Tie | Neither, and the honest answer is do not buy either for this. Spermidine scores 4.5 and urolithin A 2.5, but the only real test on this page failed: Schwarz 2022 gave 100 older adults with subjective cognitive decline 0.9 mg/day of wheat germ extract for 12 months and found no significant primary memory benefit. Urolithin A's cognitive work (Hou 2024, Madsen 2024) is preclinical. |
| Strength Power | Tie | Urolithin A scores 4.5 against spermidine's 2.0, and the evidence does not support acting on it. Watts 2025 pooled three randomized trials and the 6-minute walk estimate crossed null, with the authors concluding the evidence remains insufficient for muscle-function use. Singh 2022 is positive and industry-funded. A subrating gap this size on contested evidence is a tie. |
| Anti Inflammatory | Tie | Spermidine 5.0 against urolithin A 5.5, inside the noise. The 2024 human systematic review on urolithin A found anti-inflammatory and mitochondrial marker signals across five studies in 250 people while calling the functional evidence insufficient. Spermidine's inflammation case is mechanistic. Mid-scores on both sides, so decide on another row. |
Cost Comparison
| Intervention | Monthly Cost | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Spermidine | $40 to $90 | ESTIMATE, priced 2026-09-08, ordinary supplement retail. Branded wheat germ extract at the 1 to 3 mg/day dose runs $40 to $90 a month, and that is the form the human trials used. Synthetic spermidine trihydrochloride runs $15 to $30 and has thinner human outcome evidence. Keohane 2024 gave 37 older men 40 mg/day of high-purity trihydrochloride for 28 days and circulating polyamines barely moved. |
| Urolithin A | $50 to $100 | ESTIMATE, priced 2026-09-07, ordinary supplement retail. Branded Mitopure at the studied 500 mg/day dose runs $50 to $100 a month, and it is the only form validated in the human RCTs. Generic urolithin A is cheaper and has real purity and label-claim problems, which is why the report marks purity verification as required rather than advisable. |
| The difference | $10 to $20 a month, which is not the interesting number | The monthly gap between them is small enough to ignore. What differs is how long you have to pay before you learn anything. Urolithin A gives a 16-week assessment window. Spermidine's is 24 weeks with full effect estimated at 12 months.So the real comparison is roughly $200 to $400 for a urolithin A trial you can actually judge against $480 to $1,080 for a spermidine year that ends in a judgment call. Both categories also sell a cheap generic that does not match the trial material, and in both cases the saving is false. |
When to Switch
These run on completely different clocks and that is the first thing to get right. Urolithin A gives a first noticeable change at about four weeks and a 16-week assessment window.
Spermidine's first-noticeable figure is estimated at 12 weeks with full effect at 12 months and a 24-week window, so nothing you feel in the first three months means anything either way. Judging spermidine at eight weeks is not a fair test.
Switch from urolithin A to spermidine when the goal turns out to be systemic rather than muscular. The tells are that you started it for general aging rather than for a training or walking-speed problem, or that a cardiovascular or immune-aging concern is what actually brought you here.
Urolithin A scores 3.0 on cardiovascular against spermidine's 7.8, so there was never a mechanism to wait on. Switch the other way, from spermidine to urolithin A, when measurable muscle endurance or strength in an older adult is the endpoint, or when you want a result inside four months instead of twelve.
Stacking them is defensible but partly redundant, and you should know where. Spermidine's eIF5A hypusination arm feeds the same mitophagy machinery that urolithin A activates through PINK1 and Parkin, so the mitochondrial half overlaps.
The non-overlapping half is real: spermidine's EP300 inhibition drives bulk autophagy that urolithin A does not touch. At $90 to $190 a month combined, run both only if you want broad autophagy and a muscle endpoint at the same time, and start them at least four weeks apart.
Who Should Pick What?
Adult over 60 buying one longevity supplement and nothing else
Spermidine
Longevity 7.5 against 5.0, healthspan 7.0 against 5.0 and geriatric 7.2 against 5.5. Kiechl 2018 is the only human mortality signal on either side, and it is observational. Expect to take it for a year before judging, and expect the judgment to be a leap of faith rather than a measurement.
Older adult whose specific problem is fatigue in the legs and slow walking
Urolithin A
Muscle 5.0 against 2.0 and endurance 4.5 against 3.5. Liu 2022 randomized exactly this population and found muscle-endurance and biomarker signals, but the 6-minute walk distance was not clearly significant, so set your expectations there. Sixteen weeks at 500 mg/day of Mitopure, then decide.
Someone with a family history of cardiovascular disease
Spermidine
Cardiovascular 7.8 against 3.0, the largest gap on this page. Eisenberg 2016 showed autophagy-dependent cardioprotection in animals and Kiechl 2018 is the human association. POLYCAD, a 187-person randomized trial in elderly coronary artery disease patients at 24 mg/day for 48 weeks, has not reported. This supplements statin-level care, it does not substitute.
Anyone buying either one to protect their memory
Tie
Neither, and this is the clearest no on the page. Schwarz 2022 ran the trial: 100 older adults with subjective cognitive decline, 12 months of wheat germ extract spermidine, no significant primary memory benefit. Urolithin A's brain work is preclinical (Hou 2024, Madsen 2024). Save the $500 to $1,000 a year.
Trained athlete looking for a performance edge
Tie
Neither, honestly. Urolithin A's strength result (Singh 2022) is in middle-aged adults, industry-funded and unreplicated, and Watts 2025 pooled three trials with a walking-test estimate that crossed null. Spermidine scores 2.0 on strength and 2.0 on VO2 max. Both source reports point elsewhere for performance.
Anyone with celiac disease, gluten sensitivity or wheat allergy
Urolithin A
Wheat germ extract spermidine is out, and those exclusions are on its contraindication list explicitly. A 2025 recall for undeclared wheat allergen in a spermidine supplement shows the labeling risk is live. Synthetic trihydrochloride avoids the wheat but Keohane 2024 found it barely moved circulating polyamines at 40 mg/day.
Anyone in active cancer treatment
Tie
Neither without your oncologist saying yes in writing. Active cancer without explicit oncology clearance is on both contraindication lists, and spermidine adds DFMO (eflornithine) therapy specifically because that drug targets polyamine synthesis. Autophagy modulation cuts both ways in oncology, and the preclinical urolithin A cancer work (Francisco 2026) is in vitro only.
Someone who wants a result they can judge inside four months
Urolithin A
Sixteen-week assessment window against spermidine's 24 weeks with full effect estimated at 12 months. That is the practical difference between the two and it rarely gets stated. Pair it with a measurable endpoint you can test before and after, because the biomarker shifts Andreux 2019 reported are not things you feel.
Research Highlights
-
Mechanism Difference
Spermidine and urolithin A both trigger cellular recycling, and they do it at different scopes. Spermidine inhibits the EP300 acetyltransferase to release autophagy broadly, and supplies the eIF5A hypusination that mitophagy proteins depend on. That breadth is why it scores 8.0 on autophagy and carries subratings above 6.0 across cardiovascular, immune, senescence and hair.Urolithin A is narrower by design. It activates PINK1 and Parkin dependent mitophagy, which is selective clearance of damaged mitochondria rather than bulk recycling, with downstream acylcarnitine and mitochondrial gene-expression shifts. That is why it scores 7.0 on mitochondrial and 1.0 on most rows outside muscle and mitochondria.
-
Safety Comparison
Both are low-risk and share one serious exclusion. Active cancer without explicit oncology clearance is contraindicated on each, because modulating autophagy cuts both ways in a tumor. Spermidine adds DFMO (eflornithine) therapy, a drug that directly targets polyamine synthesis, and adds celiac disease, gluten sensitivity and wheat allergy when the source is wheat germ extract.Urolithin A adds unverified generic product with no label-claim testing to its own list, which is a sourcing exclusion rather than a physiological one. Both exclude pregnancy and lactation. Spermidine's downside total is 0.248 against urolithin A's 0.657, and most of urolithin A's gap is cost rather than harm.
-
Cost Comparison
Branded wheat germ extract spermidine runs $40 to $90 a month at 1 to 3 mg/day. Branded Mitopure urolithin A runs $50 to $100 a month at the studied 500 mg/day. Both are retail estimates priced September 2026, not measured prices, and in both categories the cheap generic does not match the trial material.The monthly gap is trivial. The trial-length gap is not. Urolithin A's assessment window is 16 weeks, so a fair test costs roughly $200 to $400. Spermidine's window is 24 weeks with full effect estimated at 12 months, so a fair test costs $480 to $1,080 and ends in a judgment call rather than a measurement.
-
Editorial Verdict
Spermidine scores 7.6 and urolithin A 6.5, and the gap reflects breadth rather than proof. Take spermidine for systemic aging: autophagy 8.0, cardiovascular 7.8, longevity 7.5, geriatric 7.2, and accept that its headline human result (Kiechl 2018) is a 20-year dietary association rather than a supplementation trial.Take urolithin A when the endpoint is muscle or mitochondrial and you want an answer in sixteen weeks: mitochondrial 7.0, muscle 5.0. Both failed their most important test. Schwarz 2022 found no memory benefit from a year of spermidine, and Watts 2025 found the pooled urolithin A walking estimate crossed null.
-
Durability
Their durability scores are nearly identical, 2.6 for spermidine against 2.5 for urolithin A, meaning neither benefit is expected to outlive the supplement by much. Nothing on either report tests what happens after stopping, so both numbers are inference from mechanism rather than measurement.Speed is where they differ, and spermidine has the lowest speed score on either report at 1.0 out of 5.0. First noticeable change is estimated at 12 weeks with full effect at 12 months. Urolithin A scores 2.3 with a first change at 4 weeks. Neither produces anything you feel day to day.
Frequently Asked Questions
- Is spermidine better than urolithin A?
- For systemic aging, yes. Spermidine scores 7.6 against 6.5 and wins autophagy (8.0 to 5.0), cardiovascular (7.8 to 3.0), longevity (7.5 to 5.0) and hair (6.8 to 1.0). Urolithin A wins mitochondrial (7.0 to 6.5), muscle (5.0 to 2.0) and endurance (4.5 to 3.5). Pick by whether your target is the whole organism or your legs.
- What is the actual difference between autophagy and mitophagy?
- Scope. Autophagy is the cell recycling damaged components generally, and spermidine drives it by inhibiting EP300. Mitophagy is the subset that clears damaged mitochondria specifically, and urolithin A drives it through PINK1 and Parkin. Spermidine also feeds mitophagy through eIF5A hypusination, so it partly covers urolithin A's job. The reverse is not true.
- How long before either one works?
- Urolithin A has a 16-week assessment window with a first change at about four weeks. Spermidine's first-noticeable figure is estimated at 12 weeks with full effect at 12 months and a 24-week window. Spermidine has the lowest speed score on either report, 1.0 out of 5.0. Neither produces anything you feel day to day.
- Can I take spermidine and urolithin A together?
- Yes, with a caveat about overlap. Spermidine's eIF5A arm feeds the same mitophagy machinery urolithin A activates, so that half is partly redundant. The bulk-autophagy half through EP300 is not. Neither contraindication list names the other. At $90 to $190 a month combined, only stack if you want both broad autophagy and a muscle endpoint.
- Do I need the branded versions?
- For urolithin A, yes: only Mitopure matches the trial material, and its report marks purity verification as required because generics have real label-claim problems. For spermidine, the trials used wheat germ extract. The cheaper synthetic trihydrochloride is not equivalent on the evidence: Keohane 2024 gave 37 older men 40 mg/day for 28 days and circulating polyamines barely moved.
- Will either one help my memory?
- No, on the best available test. Schwarz 2022 randomized 100 older adults with subjective cognitive decline to 12 months of wheat germ extract spermidine and found no significant primary memory benefit. Urolithin A's cognitive work is preclinical, in mouse models (Hou 2024) and human microglial cells (Madsen 2024). Neither is a cognition purchase.
- Can I just eat pomegranates instead of buying urolithin A?
- Only if your gut bacteria cooperate, and most people's do not reliably. Selma 2014 identified the gut bacterium that converts ellagic acid into urolithins, and Tomas-Barberan 2017 describes metabotypes where conversion varies widely between people. That variability is the actual argument for the supplement, and nobody tests your metabotype before selling it to you.
- Who should not take either one?
- Anyone in active cancer treatment without explicit oncology clearance, and anyone pregnant or nursing. Spermidine adds DFMO (eflornithine) therapy because that drug targets polyamine synthesis, plus celiac disease, gluten sensitivity and wheat allergy for the wheat germ form. Urolithin A adds pediatric use and any unverified generic with no label-claim testing.
Evidence Sources
- Observational Higher spermidine intake is linked to lower mortality: a prospective population-based study (2018) Bruneck cohort, n=829, 20-year follow-up. Higher dietary spermidine intake associated with lower all-cause mortality.
- Preclinical Cardioprotection and lifespan extension by the natural polyamine spermidine (2016) Animal lifespan and cardiac data, with the effect dependent on autophagy in cardiomyocytes.
- RCT Effects of spermidine supplementation on cognition and biomarkers in older adults with subjective cognitive decline (2022) n=100, 0.9 mg/day wheat germ extract for 12 months. No significant primary memory benefit.
- RCT The effect of a spermidine-based nutritional supplement on hair follicle physiology (2017) Randomized double-blind placebo-controlled study, n=100. Improved hair follicle cycling markers.
- RCT Supplementation of spermidine at 40 mg/day has minimal effects on circulating polyamines (2024) n=37 older men. 40 mg/day high-purity trihydrochloride for 28 days was well tolerated but barely changed circulating polyamines.
- RCT Human supplementation with AM3, spermidine and hesperidin enhances immune function and decreases biological age (2024) Randomized trial of a combination product. Useful for safety and immune-marker context, not for spermidine-isolated efficacy.
- Protocol POLYamine treatment in elderly patients with coronary artery disease (POLYCAD): study protocol (2025) n=187 elderly coronary artery disease patients, 24 mg/day for 48 weeks. Results not yet reported.
- Systematic review The beneficial effects of spermidine via autophagy: a systematic review (2025) Narrative synthesis across anti-aging, cardiovascular, neurologic and metabolic endpoints, highlighting research gaps.
- Regulatory FDA GRN 889, spermidine-rich wheat germ extract notice inventory (2026) FDA ceased evaluation at the notifier's request. This is not a no-questions letter or a drug endorsement.
- Authority gap Cochrane Library search for spermidine supplementation reviews (2026) No Cochrane review specific to spermidine supplementation for longevity, cognition, cardiovascular prevention, autophagy or hair outcomes.
- Systematic review Targeting aging with urolithin A in humans: systematic review (2024) Five human studies, 250 healthy individuals. Anti-inflammatory and mitochondrial marker signals, insufficient evidence for broad physical-function or cardiovascular claims.
- Systematic review The effects of urolithin A supplementation on muscle strength, muscle mass and physical performance in humans (2025) Preprint synthesis of three randomized trials. The pooled 6-minute walk estimate crossed null and the evidence was called insufficient for current muscle-function use.
- RCT The mitophagy activator urolithin A is safe and induces a molecular signature of improved mitochondrial and cellular health in humans (2019) First-in-human study supporting safety, bioavailability, acylcarnitine shifts and mitochondrial gene-expression effects.
- RCT Effect of urolithin A supplementation on muscle endurance and mitochondrial health in older adults (2022) Older-adult RCT. Muscle-endurance and biomarker signals, but 6-minute walk and maximal ATP production were not clearly significant versus placebo.
- RCT Urolithin A improves muscle strength, exercise performance and biomarkers of mitochondrial health in middle-aged adults (2022) Middle-aged adult RCT supporting a strength and performance signal, with industry funding and replication limitations.
- RCT Effect of the mitophagy inducer urolithin A on age-related immune decline (2025) 50-person RCT. 1000 mg/day for 4 weeks shifted CD8+ immune-aging and fatty-acid oxidation endpoints.
- Preclinical Urolithin A induces mitophagy and prolongs lifespan in C. elegans and increases muscle function in rodents (2016) Foundational mitophagy paper. Lifespan and muscle-function signals in worms and rodents.
- Review Urolithins and metabotypes as a nexus among phenolic metabolism, microbiota dysbiosis and host health status (2017) Urolithin metabotypes vary widely between people, which is why ellagitannin food intake does not reliably produce urolithin A.
- Preclinical Safety assessment of urolithin A (2017) Rodent toxicology and genotoxicity assessment. High no-observed-adverse-effect level with no target-organ toxicity at tested doses.
- Preclinical Gordonibacter urolithinfaciens sp. nov., a urolithin-producing bacterium isolated from the human gut (2014) Identified the human gut bacterium that converts ellagic acid into urolithins.
Glossary
Quick reference for the medical and technical terms used in this comparison.
- Autophagy Autophagy
- The cell's general recycling process for damaged proteins and organelles. Spermidine releases it broadly by inhibiting EP300, which is why it scores 8.0 on this dimension.
- Mitophagy Mitophagy
- The subset of autophagy that clears damaged mitochondria specifically. Urolithin A triggers it through the PINK1 and Parkin pathway, and it is the whole of what urolithin A does.
- EP300 E1A Binding Protein P300
- An acetyltransferase that suppresses autophagy when active. Spermidine inhibits it, which is the mechanism behind its broadest effects.
- eIF5A Eukaryotic Translation Initiation Factor 5A
- A protein that requires a spermidine-derived modification called hypusination to function. It is how spermidine reaches mitophagy proteins as well as bulk autophagy.
- PINK1 PTEN-Induced Kinase 1
- The sensor that tags a damaged mitochondrion for removal, working with Parkin. This is the pathway urolithin A activates and the reason its effects are mitochondria-specific.
- WGE Wheat Germ Extract
- The spermidine source used in the human trials, including Schwarz 2022 and Rinaldi 2017. Its wheat origin is why celiac disease and wheat allergy are contraindications.
- Metabotype Urolithin Metabotype
- A person's pattern of converting dietary ellagitannins into urolithins, set by their gut bacteria. Tomas-Barberan 2017 describes the variability, which is why food intake is an unreliable route.
- 6MWT Six-Minute Walk Test
- The standard functional endpoint in older-adult trials. It is the test urolithin A has not clearly beaten: not significant in Liu 2022, and crossing null in the Watts 2025 pooled estimate.